View the document history

You can access the document history to view the changes made to your document, who made the changes and when.

1. Open your document.

2. Press the Document history button in the left panel.

image01.png

The changes to the document are listed in reverse chronological order, the most recent change at the top of the list.

Tip: Press Refresh to ensure the list is up to date.

To see the modifications to attachments, use the version control feature.
Learn more: Manage document versions in AODocs libraries.

image02.png

The table below lists the actions that are included in the document history.

Icon Explanation Additional details
doc_created.png Document created

Learn more: Create AODocs documents

When you export documents (to a different library or to a different document class within the same library), their document history is cleared and the only action listed in the document history is Document created.

Learn more:

doc_updated.png Document updated

The following actions generate the action Document updated.

General:

Learn more: What is an AODocs document?

Attachments:

  • Add an attachment
  • Replace an existing attachment
  • Remove an attachment
  • Rename an attachment in a Document Management library
  • Re-order the attachments in a document

Learn more: Manage your attachments

Versions:

  • Rename the current version
  • Modify the description of the current version

Learn more: Manage document versions in AODocs libraries

Other:

attachment_updated.png Attachment edited

This action is listed when you edit the content of a document attachment.

Learn more: Manage your attachments

Attachment renamed in Drive

The document attachment in a Team Folder or Secured Folder was renamed.

Note: It may take some time for attachment (edit or rename) actions to appear in the document history. If you perform other actions in the meantime, they may appear before the attachment action in the list even though you performed them afterwards.

permissions_updated.png Permissions updated

Learn more:

document_moved.png Document moved

Learn more: Move files and folders

worfklow_simple.png Workflow action performed
(simple transition)

Learn more: Perform workflow actions

If the workflow participant added a comment when they performed the workflow action, it is recorded in the document history.

workflow_parallel.png Workflow action performed
(parallel transition)

Learn more: Perform workflow actions

If the workflow participant added a comment when they performed the workflow action, it is recorded in the document history.

force_state_change.png Change of workflow state forced by library administrator

Learn more: Force the workflow state without triggering a transition

If the administrator added a comment when they changed the workflow state, it is recorded in the document history.

admin_finalize_parallel.png Parallel workflow transition finalized by library administrator

Learn more: Finalize the current parallel workflow transition

If the administrator added a comment when they finalized the workflow transition, it is recorded in the document history.

workflow_state_property.png Automatic workflow transition based on a property value Learn more: Configure automatic transitions
workflow_state_time.png Automatic workflow transition based on time

Learn more: Configure automatic transitions

checkout.png Document checked out

Learn more: Check out a document: create a draft version

checkin.png  Document checked in

Learn more: Check in a document: confirm a draft version

If the user added a comment when they checked in the document, it is recorded in the document history.

discard_draft.png  Draft document discarded 

Learn more: Cancel a check-out: discard a draft version 

new_version_created.png New version created

Learn more: Create a new version of a document

The following information is recorded in the document history:

  • New version name
  • Description of the new version (if defined)
version_restored.png 

Version restored

Learn more: Restore a previous version of a document

The following information is recorded in the document history:

    • Restored version name
    • New version name
    • Description of the new version (if defined)

Document restored from the trash

Learn more: Display, restore or delete files from the trash

doc_deleted.png

Document deleted
(sent to trash)

Learn more: Delete documents in AODocs

If the user added a comment when they deleted the document, it is recorded in the document history.

Note: When a document is in the trash you can't access its history, so this action appears in the document history only if the document has been restored. 


If an action on the document isn't triggered directly by a user, Automatically created appears in the right column. This occurs for:

  • automatic workflow transitions based on property values or time
  • actions that are triggered automatically when you perform a manual action – for example, when you check out a document manually, a new version is created. The action Checked out is triggered by you, but the action New version created is marked as Automatically created. However, if you manually create a new version, it is triggered by you.

The following actions aren't recorded in the document history:

Was this article helpful? 1 out of 1 found this helpful
If you didn’t find what you were looking for, don’t hesitate to leave a comment!
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

3 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.