Export documents from Document Management libraries

Library administrators working in Document Management libraries can export documents to other Document Management libraries.

Important:
– You must have library administrator permissions on the source and target libraries.
– Different export options apply to Team Folders and Secured Folders. Learn more: Export documents or folders from Team Folders or Secured Folders
– You can't export folders from Document Management libraries.

What happens to properties, workflow states, permissions and previous versions? 
During the export: 
– document properties are exported only if the configuration of the target library corresponds to that of the source library
– the workflow state (if any) of exported documents reverts to the initial state of the workflow
– sharing permissions of exported documents aren't exported
– previous versions aren't exported

To export a document from the document page, open the More actions menu and select Export. Then continue to step 3.

image01.png

To export documents from a view:

1. In your view, select one or more documents.

2. Open the More actions menu and select Export.

3. In the document export pop-up, select the target library.

Tip: If you're working in a library with more than one document class, you can select the current library to change the document class of your document.

image02.png

4. If your target library has more than one document class, you can select the class into which to export your document. A drop-down menu appears when you position your cursor in the Document class field.

5. Press Export.

image03.png

During the export:

  • if the document class in the target library has a folder structure, AODocs creates an export folder named Export - [current date and time] containing the selected documents and moves the folder to the target library
  • if the document class in the target library doesn't have a folder structure, AODocs moves the exported documents to the root of the target Document Management library
  • the administrator who performed the export receives a notification email

Note: Other administrators and super administrators aren't notified of this action and don't have access to the exported documents. However, this operation is recorded in the library audit log.

image03.pngEmail notification sent to the administrator who launched the export

6. You can press the here button to view the progress of the export.

image04.png

Details of the job status open in a new tab.

image06.png

7. When the export is complete, you can:

  • Reload the view (if you exported from a view): to refresh the current view
  • Go to target library: to open the target Document Management library homepage

image04.png

  • Stay in current library (if you exported from the document page): to return to the current library homepage in AODocs

image08.png

Was this article helpful? 0 out of 1 found this helpful
If you didn’t find what you were looking for, don’t hesitate to leave a comment!
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

2 comments
  • What happens to the older versions of exported documents when performing a AODocs to AODocs export?
    I know that they do not go to the target library but what happens to them?
    Are they still accessible?
    Do they get deleted?

    Can they be restored?

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Excellent questions Gabriel! 
    Since the version is a concept of the AODocs document which includes: 
    Attachment(s) 
    System properties 
    Description 
    Custom properties 
    Workflow state

    When you export a document, from one library to another, we only export the latest version of the AODocs document.

    The previous versions attachment(s) are kept in the storage account (completely unshared to anyone). They can be reattached to a document as long as you know the Drive ID of the attachment to restore. Then you can use this API, to reattach the attachment to another AODocs document.

    The previous versions system properties, description, custom properties or workflow state are deleted. They cannot be restored.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.