Configure inherited permissions in document classes

As a library administrator, you must define the inherited permission model for each document class. The inherited permission model defines how documents inherit permissions automatically.

AODocs provides three ways to apply inherited permissions to documents:

  • Document class permissions: a single set of permissions is defined for all the documents in a document class
  • Folder permissions: the document permissions are determined by the document's parent folder
  • Workflow permissions: the document permissions are determined by the workflow configuration

Note:
– In Document Management libraries, document permissions are inherited from the document class by default.
– In Secured Folders, document permissions of the default document class are inherited from folders. For any additional document classes you create, document permissions are inherited from the document class.
– In Team Folders, document permissions are inherited from folders.

To configure the inherited permission model for a document class:

1. Open the library administration interface.

2. Select Document classes.

3. Press the name of the document class you want to configure or select Configure document class in the More actions menu. The document class configuration page opens.

4. Select the Security tab.

5. Under Inherited permissions, select an option:

6. If you selected Document class, an additional panel appears. Select the permissions for library readers in this document class:

  • Can read
  • Can't access

7. Select the permissions for library contributors in this document class:

  • Can read and edit
  • Can read
  • Can't access

8. If required, you can add specific users, groups and roles to the list of permissions.

Note: By default, document creators can read and edit the documents they create in this document class.

  • Press the add button and choose Select users / groups or Select roles.
  • In the pop-up, enter the user or group email or select a role, then press OK.
    Learn more: Create and configure custom roles.
  • Select the access level:
    • Can read
    • Can read and edit

Tip: Press the trash button to delete the specific permissions for a user, group or role.

9. Save your changes.

image01.png

If required, you can now prevent users from overriding the inherited permissions.

Was this article helpful? 1 out of 2 found this helpful
If you didn’t find what you were looking for, don’t hesitate to leave a comment!
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.