Step 5: Configuration - Set workflow permissions

A workflow is a sequence of steps describing the life cycle of a document. In AODocs, each workflow step is called a workflow state.

Library administrators can configure workflow permissions for each workflow state:

Define permission mode of the document class
Configure the document permissions
Configure the properties and description permissions


Define the permission mode of the document class

Important: To configure the permissions based on workflow states, the permission model of the document class must be based on the workflow state of each document.
If the permissions of the document class are based on the document class” or folders, the permissions pop-up for each workflow displays a warning message informing you that changes you make to the workflow permissions won’t be taken into account.
Learn more: Configure inherited permissions on documents

image1.jpg

To check the permission model of the document class:

1. In the administration interface, select the Document Class section.

2. Select your document class.

3. In the Security tab, check that the Document permissions are inherited from: The document’s current workflow state.

image2.jpg


Configure the document permissions

1. In the workflow configuration, press Permissions for each workflow state.

image3.png

Note: Permissions set on a draft workflow state are applied only to the draft version of the document. The main version of the document takes the permissions set on a standard workflow state.

2. In the permissions pop-up, select the tab Document permissions.

3. Choose if you want to keep the existing permissions or if you want to remove them when the document enters the workflow state.

Tips:
- If your security mode is The authorized users can override the inherited security, administrators and sometimes contributors can modify the permissions of a document in a specific workflow state, regardless of the permissions set at the workflow level. In this situation, you can decide to keep the permissions added during the previous workflow state or to reset the permissions as defined in the workflow configuration.
- If the security mode is The inherited security cannot be overridden, nobody can change the permissions of the document manually. Forcing the reset of the permissions for each workflow state becomes unnecessary.
Learn more here: Configure inherited permissions on documents.

4. Configure the check-out/check-in setting for your workflow state. If you select the checkbox Documents are read-only when not checked out, the document will be in read only for everyone if it is checked-in. To edit the document in this state, the contributor must check-out the document.

Tip: When using the check-out/check-in feature in a workflow, you can make sure no modifications can be done outside a check-out state of the document.

image7.png

5. Configure the sharing permissions for the workflow state:

  • Type the email address of a user or a Google Group or the name of a role.
  • Press Add.
  • Set the permission level to Read, Read, Comment or Read, Write.  

The sharing permissions are applied to the document when it enters the workflow state.

Note: The Read, Comment permission:
- gives you comment access on the Google files attached to your document. The other elements of the document, such as the properties, the description or the relations are in read only.
- is only available in Document Management libraries.

6. You can also set the visibility mode of the document:

  • Visible only to selected users and groups: only users and groups defined in the list of document permissions (step 5) have access to the document
  • Visible to all library readersthe document is read only to all users, including contributors
  • Editable by all library contributorscontributors can edit the document, readers can’t view it
  • Visible and editable by all: contributors can edit the document, readers can view it

image2.png


Configure the properties and description permissions

With this feature, the properties and description can be read-only, mandatory or hidden,  depending on the workflow state.

1. In the permissions pop-up, select the tab Field permissions.

2. For each property, you can set it to Read-only, Mandatory or Hidden for this workflow state.

3. You can set the Description field to Read-only, Mandatory or Hidden for this workflow state.

Important: If a property is set as mandatory, read-only or hidden at the document class level, you can’t change the setting at the workflow state level.

Notes:
- Read-only means that contributors don’t have access to the property field in edit mode. Administrators can edit these fields.
- In the initial workflow state, properties can’t be hidden, read-only or mandatory at the same time. This avoids blocking the creation of a document. In any other state, you can combine these settings and a property can be hidden, read-only and mandatory.
- A warning message appears in the properties tab of the document, indicating the required mandatory property and if an administrator must fill in the property (mandatory/hidden or mandatory/read-only). Learn more: Edit Custom Properties
- The title is always mandatory.

image5.png

Tip: If you have a long list of properties, you can select all the properties for a specific field configuration.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

2 comments
  • Hi,
    I appreciate this information but I can not use new functions yet. 
    Would you let me know when I can use new function such as setting it in read-only, mandatory or hidden on the tab “Field permissions”?

    Thank you.

  • Hi Daeyong,
    Thanks for your comment, we are releasing the new version of AODocs next week and it comes with this new feature of field permissions depending on the workflow state.
    Learn more here: https://support.aodocs.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002397866-AODocs-V43-Release-notes
    We updated our articles in the knowledge in advance of the launch.

Please sign in to leave a comment.