Manage document versions in AODocs libraries

As a contributor, you can create a new version of a document. The new version stores the properties, relations, descriptions and attachments of the document.

Learn more: Understand the AODocs version control system.

Important:
– Previous versions of documents are read-only.
– Only contributors can create new versions.
– You can view previous versions if you have read access to a document.
– The Versions tab may not be visible if a library administrator has restricted its visibility. Learn more: Restrict who can see the list of previous versions.

This article explains how to:

 Access the Versions tab of a document
 Create a new version of a document
 View a previous version of a document
 Restore a previous version of a document
 Video: Manage document versions

Access the Versions tab of a document

1. Open a document.

2. In the sidebar, press the Versions button. The Versions tab opens. Each version is defined by a version name (or number), a date of creation, a version creator and an optional description.

Note: The document page for previous versions may have different sections displayed from the current version. Library administrators can customize the display of previous versions of documents differently from the way they're customized for current versions.
Learn more: Manage the display of AODocs documents.

image01.png


Create a new version of a document

As a contributor, you can create a new version of a document.

Note: This feature isn't available if a library administrator has disabled manual versioning.

1. In the Versions tab, press the Add New Version button or in any tab, select Create new version in the More actions menu.

2. Enter a name for your new version.

Notes:
– You can’t use the same name as another version of the document.
– You have to use a number if a library administrator has forced names of document versions to be numbers.

3. Enter a version description, if required.

4. Press Create.

A new version is created and becomes the current version.

When you create a new version of an AODocs document, the document, its properties and its attachments are duplicated and archived. This is so you can restore a previous version of a document if required.

Note: It may take a few seconds to create a new version, depending on the number of attachments.

image02.png


View a previous version of a document

As an AODocs user, you can view the content of a previous version.

1. In the Versions tab, go to the Previous versions section.

2. Press the View this version button next to the version you want to view. The previous document version opens in a new tab.

image03.png

3. Press the document attachments to view them.

  • Google files are instantly available to view.
  • Non-Google files open in the advanced viewer

Note: The advanced viewer displays:
– common non-Google attachments (such as PDF files and PNG files) that open in the Google Drive preview embedded in AODocs when attached to the main version of the document
– other non-Google files supported by the advanced viewer

Learn more: What are attachments?


Restore a previous version of a document

As a contributor, you can restore the content of a previous version as a new version.

Note: The Restore this version button isn't available if: 
– a library administrator has disabled manual versioning 
– the document has been checked out

1. In the Versions tab, press the Restore this version button next to the required version.

2. Set the name and the description of the new version.

Notes:
– You can’t use the same name as another version of the document.
– You have to use a number if a library administrator has forced names of document versions to be numbers.

3. Press Restore. A new version is created. The new version is a copy of the version you restored.

Note: Restoring a previous version of a document doesn't change the location of the document. For example, if you moved a document from folder A to folder B and restored the document now located in folder B as a previous version when it was in folder A, the document is restored but stays in folder B. 

image04.png

Note: When you restore a previous version of a document, you become the creator of the new document, even if you didn't create the version you restored.


Video: Manage document versions in AODocs libraries

Was this article helpful? 4 out of 5 found this helpful
If you didn’t find what you were looking for, don’t hesitate to leave a comment!
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

3 comments
  • How do I prevent users from being able to view past versions of the document? I disabled the option for them to view the list, but they can still access the document directly using the Google Doc URL, and they seem to have view permissions.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Did your users bookmark the Drive URL or were they referenced in other documents/sites? We recommend the usage of the AODocs links that redirect the users to the latest version of the attachment: https://support.aodocs.com/hc/en-us/articles/360001513912-Share-document-attachments-as-Google-Drive-URLs

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • We only publish the AODocs links, but we can't prevent our users from bookmarking the Drive URL once they have it. The goal is to use AODocs to control access to our documents, including restricting access to out-of-date versions.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.