UFO/AFO: Manage locked files

The Universal File Opener (UFO) and the AODocs File Opener (AFO) are Google Chrome extensions.

  • UFO is used in AODocs libraries using Google Drive storage
  • AFO is used in AODocs libraries using Google Cloud Storage

Learn more:

This article explains how to manage locked files with UFO/AFO.

Important: Some features described in this article aren't available with AFO. This is either because they concern Google Drive or they haven't yet been developed for AFO. In the article, we indicate where this is the case.

Automatically generated table of contents


Lock your files

To avoid editing conflicts, UFO/AFO locks shared files that are being edited:

  • When you open a file locally with UFO/AFO, it is locked by you. Nobody else can edit a file you have locked. By default, the file is locked for one hour. Administrators can configure a different lock duration.
  • When you save your file in your local software, the lock is extended by an hour from the moment you save.

image01.png
Word file locked with AFO in a Document Management library using Google Cloud Storage

With UFO, if a file is locked by another user, you can choose to open the file locally in read-only.

 Note: AFO doesn't currently support read-only mode.

Tip: You can check if a file is locked by another user before opening it if you're using AFO or UFO without the AODocs Smartbar

image02.png
Opening a locked file in read-only (UFO) and viewing the lock status (UFO/AFO)


Automatic unlock features

Automatic lock expiration

The lock on a file expires even if the file is still open in your local software. When the lock expires on a file, other contributors of the library can lock the file and edit it.

Important:
– By default the file lock lasts an hour.
– Administrators can configure a different lock duration.

If a lock expires and you try to save a file that's still open in your local software:

  • Your changes are saved in Google Drive (UFO) or AODocs (UFO and AFO) if the file isn’t locked by another user and hasn’t been modified since you opened it. The file is automatically locked again by you when you save.
  • Your changes aren't saved if the file is locked by another user.
    A pop-up opens to prompt you to save a copy of your file in another location on your computer. You can then manually merge your changes later.
  • Your changes aren't saved if the file is unlocked but has been modified by another user since you last opened it. The Conflict resolution pop-up opens. On macOS, press More.

    You can choose to:

    • Overwrite the current remote file with your changes (UFO and AFO)

    • Discard your changes and get the latest version from Google Drive (UFO only, not AFO). If you choose to discard your changes, you can first save a copy of your file on your computer and then manually merge your changes later.

    • Cancel (AFO only, not UFO). The next time you open the file with AFO, the remote version is automatically downloaded and this overwrites your local changes. Before doing this, we strongly recommend saving a copy of your file on your computer.

Note: If you're using UFO and you try to save a Word file in which there is a conflict, you can use the Compare and Merge feature to resolve your conflicts. Learn more: Handle conflicts in Microsoft Word files. The Compare and Merge feature isn't currently available for AFO.

image04.pngResolve conflict notification for UFO

image05.png
Resolve conflict notification for AFO

Automatic unlock when you close your file editor

UFO/AFO unlocks files automatically when you close the local editor of the following file types:

Microsoft Office

  • Word (.doc, .docm, .docx)
  • Excel (.xlsb, .xlsx)
  • PowerPoint (.ppt, .pptx)
  • Access (.accdb)

LibreOffice

  • Writer (.odt)
  • Calc (.ods)
  • Presentation (.odp)
  • Drawing (.odg)

Adobe Acrobat


Manually unlock your files

You can manually unlock file types that aren't unlocked automatically by UFO/AFO.

Important: You can only unlock files you have locked.

Unlock files from the synchronization status notification after saving

1. Edit your file and save your changes locally.

An initial notification appears informing you the changes are being saved. Then, the notification 100% - synchronization status appears to inform you that:

  • the changes have been saved
  • the lock on the document is extended after saving your document

Important:
– By default the lock is extended for an hour
– Administrators can configure a different lock extension time.

2. On the 100% - synchronization status notification, select the unlock option:

  • On macOS: Press More then select Unlock
  • On Windows: Press Unlock

image05.png
Synchronization status notification with Unlock option available in file types that aren't automatically locked

Unlock files from the lock status pop-up

You can unlock files from the lock status popup:

  • in Google Drive (UFO)
  • in AODocs (UFO or AFO)

Note for UFO users: The lock status is available only if you're using UFO without the AODocs Smartbar. Learn more: What is the AODocs Smartbar?

1. Hover over a non-Google file that you locked with UFO/AFO. A pop-up opens.

2. Press Unlock now.

image05.pngUnlocking a file with UFO in Google Drive

image07.png
Unlocking a file with AFO in a Document Management library using Google Cloud Storage

Unlock files from the cached list (UFO only)

Note: This feature is available for UFO only, not AFO.

1. Open your list of cached files.

2. Press the red padlock of a file to unlock it. A confirmation window opens.

3. Press Yes.

Note:
– Removing a file locked by you from the cached files releases its lock.
– You can remove a lock even if your document is open in your local software.

image07.png

Was this article helpful? 6 out of 6 found this helpful
If you didn’t find what you were looking for, don’t hesitate to leave a comment!
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.