When a user checks out a document, a draft version is created. You can discard the draft version of a document if you are authorized to edit it.
Learn more: Create a draft version on a document
To cancel the check-out:
1. Open the draft version of your document.
2. Select Versions in the side panel and press the Discard draft button. Alternatively, press the Discard draft button in the banner.
3. A confirmation popup appears indicating that all changes made in the draft version will be discarded. Press Confirm to cancel the check-out and discard the changes.
The draft version is deleted and the permissions are restored on the main version.
The user whose check-out is canceled is notified by email.