Cancel a check-out: discard a draft version

When a user manually checks out a document, a draft version is created. You can manually discard the draft version of a document if you are authorized to edit it.

Learn more: Check out a document: create a draft version

1. There are several ways to cancel the check-out of a document. In the draft document:

  • in the Properties tab, press the Discard draft button in the banner

image01.png

  • in the Versions tab, press the Discard draft button

image02.png

Note: The Versions tab may not be visible if a library administrator has restricted its visibility. Learn more: Restrict who can see the list of previous versions.

  • in any tab, select Discard draft in the More actions menu

image03.png

2. A confirmation pop-up opens, indicating that all changes made in the draft version will be discarded. Press Confirm to cancel the check-out and discard the changes.

The draft version is deleted and the permissions are restored on the main version.

The user whose check-out is canceled is notified by email.

Was this article helpful? 1 out of 1 found this helpful
If you didn’t find what you were looking for, don’t hesitate to leave a comment!
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

3 comments
  • I don't see this option. Is it possible that we don't have this in our library?
    Is there another way to discard a draft version and go back to main version?

    Thanks in advance

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hello Thibault,

    Thank you very much for the explanation. It's clear now and I managed to delete the draft version I wanted.

    Have a nice day.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • If your document class is set up with "Disable manual versioning" and that the versioning is managed by the workflow then it's expected that you don't see the option.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.