When a workflow is configured in your library, you can use it to control the sharing permissions of your documents. To do so, you first need to configure your document class security settings to activate workflow permissions.
Learn more here: What are workflows?
To configure the permissions associated with each workflow state, go to the workflow editor and click on the “Permissions” button (1) inside the workflow state for which you want to define the sharing permissions.
Note that each one of the workflow states has its own “Permissions” button and its own permission settings.
Managing document permissions in a workflow
In the “permissions” pop-up, you find:
- the “Document permissions” tab (2) to configure the sharing permissions that will be applied to documents when they enter the selected workflow state
- the “Field permissions” tab (3) to configure which document properties will be set to read-only for documents that are in the selected workflow state
Defining document permissions and defining field permissions in a workflow state
In the “Document permissions” tab, you first need to configure what happens to a document’s sharing permissions when the document enters the workflow state (4):
- if you select “Reset the document-level permissions and clear the ‘override security’ flag”, any existing permission that was applied to the document prior to the workflow transition will be removed. Use this option when you want to make sure that the permissions settings of your workflow state are applied in a consistent manner to all documents.
- if you select “Keep the existing document-level permissions”, the existing sharing permissions that were applied to the document prior to the workflow transition will be preserved, and combined with the permissions defined in your workflow state.
For example, if a document has specific permissions to make it visible to Alice and Bob, and if you have configured a workflow state named “Archived”, where the sharing permissions associated with this state only contain the user Charlie:
- if your workflow state is configured with “Reset the document-level permissions”, when the document transitions to the state “Archived”, the existing sharing permissions for Alice and Bob are removed, and after the workflow transition, the document is visible only to Charlie
- if your workflow state is configured with “Keep the existing document-level permissions”, when the document transitions to the state “Archived”, the existing sharing permissions for Alice and Bob are preserved, and after the workflow transition, the document is visible to Alice, Bob and Charlie.
You can keep or remove existing permissions when the document enters current state
The second thing to configure is the check-out / check-in setting (5): if you check the checkbox “Documents are read-only when not checked out”, the documents in the selected workflow state can only be modified by a check-out operation. This setting overrides the global check-out / check-in parameter that is configured at the class level. Learn more here: Configure the Check-out / Check-in.
The third section of the pop-up (6) allows you to configure the sharing permissions that will be applied to documents when they enter the workflow state. This section is similar to how you configure permissions in the document security dialog.
You also need to set the visibility mode of the document (7). You can select one of the following options:
- Visible only to selected users and groups: the documents will be visible only to the users and groups listed in the sharing permission list. Users and groups can be added to the list by typing their name in the text box (8) and selecting a permission level in the list box (9).
- Visible to all library readers: all members of the library readers role will be able to view the documents.
- Editable by all library contributors: all members of the library contributors role will be able to edit the documents.
- Visible and editable by all: all members of the library readers role will be able to view the documents and all members of the library contributors role will be able to edit the documents.
Setting document permissions from predefined options
Giving permissions to a user or group
The “Field permissions” tab (10) contains the list of document properties that are defined in the Document Class.
You can make some of these properties read-only by checking the checkbox (11) in front of each property name. When a checkbox is checked, the corresponding document property cannot be modified as long as the document is in the workflow state.
Defining which fields have read-only access in a workflow state