The AODocs Smartbar allows the library's administrators to edit Team Folders settings directly from Google Drive. To do this open your Team Folder in Google Drive, go to the “Settings” (1) icon and click on “Team Folder”(2).
Learn more here: Install the AODocs Smartbar
Note that this menu is available only if you are an administrator of the AODocs Team Folder and you have installed the AODocs Smartbar.
Team Folder settings from Drive for the Team Folder “D7 - Team Folder”
The Team Folder settings pop-up has three sections:
Under General settings (1) you can:
- Edit the “Name” of the Team Folder (2)
- Check the “Push to every user’s My Drive” box to push the Team Folder into the Google Drive of users that have access to it and choose to send the users an email notification notifying them that a new Team Folder is added to their My Drive (3)
- Manage the library trash retention period by selecting to never delete the trash or automatically delete trashed documents after 30 days (4)
- Access the Team Folder’s activity report in the AODocs interface (5).
Learn more here: View the audit log
General Team Folders settings
Note : Do not use Drive's "rename" button (see below) to rename your library, as AODocs does not recognise it.
Drive's "rename" button
In the security section (1) you can:
- Select who can share files and folders (2):
- if the checkbox is checked, only administrators are authorized to modify the sharing permissions of files and folders in the Team Folder,
- if the checkbox is not checked, all users in the library with edit permissions are authorized to modify the sharing permissions of files and folders in the Team Folder.
- Set permissions to allow only Administrators to delete documents or folders (3). If this option is not checked then all users can delete documents or folders in this Team Folder.
Security settings in Team Folders
The user permissions section (1) allows you to:
- Add new users to the Team Folder (2)
- Give new users permission to view the documents, edit the documents or make them administrators of the library (3)
- Click on "Add" (4) to add the users in the list of people authorized to access the Team Folder
- Edit permissions for existing users in the Team Folder by switching permissions between (5):
- can view: user can only view the documents but cannot make changes
- can edit: user can view and edit documents
- is administrator: user can view & edit documents and has full administration privileges including configuring library settings and adding/removing other administrators
Adding new users and set their permissions in a Team Folder
Editing permissions for existing users in a Team Folder
Change permissions at the Team Folder level (6). The following options are available:
- Public on the web : Anyone can access it and it can be found by a search engine (this option is available only if such public sharing is enabled in your G Suite domain)
- Anyone with the link: Everyone with the link can access the Team Folder. URLs are not indexed, thus can not be found by means of a search engine, and as such hide the data by keeping the URL private to all those it has been shared with (this option is available only if such public sharing is enabled in your G Suite domain).
- People at (domain): Everyone on the specific domain will have access to the Team Folder. The Team Folder will be listed on their AODocs homepage.
- People at (domain) with link: Everyone on the specific domain & having the link will have access to the Team Folder. The Team Folder will not be listed on the AODocs homepage of the users in this case.
- Specific people : Only the people added to Root Folder permissions will have access to the Team Folder. The Team Folder will be available on their AODocs homepage.
By default, the Team Folder permissions are automatically applied to all the subfolders and documents contained in the Team Folder. However it is possible to allow subfolders and individual documents to have their own specific permissions by checking the checkbox (6).
Click on “Done” (8) after you make the changes to save the new settings for the Team Folder.
Changing the permissions at the Team Folder level
Note: If you uncheck the box (6), it makes the library have "Flexible permissions". If you check the box (6), it makes the library have "Uniform permissions".