Delete files and folders

Users can delete documents and folders if they have the permission to do so in a library. Once a document is deleted, it goes to the AODocs library trash. The document stays in the library trash until the defined library retention period or if manually permanently deleted by a library administrator.

Additionally, a library administrator can restore the deleted item.

The AODocs Smartbar allows you to delete files or folders directly from Team Folder libraries and Secured Folder libraries in Google Drive. 

1. Select the file or folder you want to delete.

2. Click on the Delete file or Delete folder button on the right.

image01.png
Deleting a file from Google Drive

image02.pngDeleting a folder from Google Drive

3. Press Delete in the confirmation pop-up.

image03.pngConfirmation pop-up

Note: Contributors can delete folders that aren't empty, but only files and folders on which they have edit rights will be deleted.

When you press Delete, the deleted item is grayed out and disappears after a few seconds.

The deleted item is then sent to the library trash. Only administrators can restore deleted items.

Learn more: 

Note: Library administrators can restrict contributors' permissions, to prevent them from deleting documents and folders. In this case, the Delete button is disabled for contributors. 

image04.pngDisabled Delete button

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.