Step 6: Configuration - Implement Version Control on Workflow States

Workflows can be used to automate the check-out / check-in and version control operations on your documents: when a document enters a workflow state, the workflow state can be configured to automatically perform a check-out, a check-in, or create a new version of the document.

Learn more here:
What are Workflows?
What is check-out / check-in?

To configure your workflow states to perform version control actions, first access the library administration page.

On the left side, click on “Workflow” (1) then open the workflow you want to configure (2).

Accessing the workflow configuration

Find the workflow state you want to configure, and click on the “Versions” button (3) at the bottom right of the workflow state configuration panel.

Opening the "Versions" menu

By clicking on it, a “Version settings” pop-up appears, with the following options to select what operations should be applied to any document at the time they enter the selected workflow state: :

  • Do nothing (4): This is the option by default.
  • Create a new version of the document (if not checked-out) (5): when this option is selected, AODocs will automatically create a new version of the document when the document enters this workflow state, unless the document is checked out at this time (in which case nothing happens).
  • Check-in the document (if checked-out) (6): when this option is selected, AODocs will automatically check in the documents entering this workflow state, if they are checked out at the time they enter the state. Nothing will be done to documents that are not checked out.
  • Discard the document (if checked-out) (7): when this option is selected, AODocs will automatically discard the checked out modifications of the documents entering this workflow state, if they are checked out at the time they enter the state. Nothing will be done to documents that are not checked out.
  • Check-out the document (if not checked-out) (8): when this option is selected, AODocs will automatically check out the documents entering this workflow state, if they are not already checked out. Nothing will be done to documents that are already checked out.

Learn more here:
Create a draft version on a document
What is check-out / check-in?

Managing the version control operations associated with a workflow state

If you select the option “Check-out the document (if not checked-out)”, you will need to configure additional parameters:

First, you can choose the name displayed for the users who can edit the draft (9).

Learn more here: Configure check-out / check-in

Then you can manage the permissions applied on the draft version of the document:

You can give “Access to the user who made the transition (Works only for a single validator)” (10) on the draft version and “Access to all editors (and admins) of the previous version” (11) on the draft version.

You can also set additional permissions (12).

Once you have made your modifications, you can “save” (13) them.


Managing the name and the permissions of the draft version

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.